Insert title here
The International Framework For Nuclear Energy Cooperation

Morocco Hosts & Chairs Executive Committee Meeting

Posted on April 17, 2013

On October 10, 2012, the International Framework for Nuclear Energy Cooperation (IFNEC) held its third annual Executive Committee Ministerial Meeting in Marrakech, Morocco. On behalf of the Kingdom of Morocco as the Host, the Director General of the National Center for Energy Sciences and Nuclear Techniques (CNESTEN), Khalid El Mediouri, served as the Chair for the Ministerial meeting, and Moroccan Minister of Energy, Mines, Water and the Environment, Fouad Douiri provided opening remarks. During this meeting, IFNEC officially expanded to 63 Participant and Observer countries based on Bahrain joining as a full Participant country and Moldova joining as an Observer. In addition, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Generation IV International Forum (GIF) participated in the meeting as permanent IFNEC Observer organizations. IFNEC Steering Group Chair Edward McGinnis and Michael Wallace, who served as the moderator of the IFNEC Finance Workshop held in May 2012, provided a report to the Executive Committee and Steering Group on the findings of the London Finance Workshop. Mr. Wallace discussed the objectives of the Workshop, its structure and its key findings, including the importance of an effective independent regulatory body, the essential role of government commitment and support and the need for a sound business plan to underpin financing of any new nuclear project. Mr. Wallace also highlighted that the Workshop’s interactive case study format, with public and private sector stakeholders, was key to developing a greater understanding of complex areas related to nuclear finance. Mr. McGinnis presented proposed follow-on actions, including continuing a dialogue between key stakeholders, including the regulatory, energy planning and financial communities The Executive Committee received status reports from the Chair of the IFNEC Steering Group, Mr. Ed McGinnis; the Co-chairs of the Infrastructure Development Working Group, Dr. Al Burkart and Mr. John Mathieson; and the Co-Chairs of the Reliable Nuclear Fuel Services Working Group, Mr. Yves Kaluzny and Mr. Kazuhiro Suzuki. The working groups reported that significant progress had been made in the past year, a joint working group meeting was held to explore cooperation in infrastructure relating to nuclear fuel services, and that engagement with industry, universities and other external entities is progressing well. At the conclusion of the meeting, a [[g_5409][Joint Statement]] was issued by the Executive Committee. For questions, please contact the IFNEC Secretariat at

Upcoming Meetings
Members Area

This area is a repository of practical information for Participant and Observer organizations. Access permission is required.

Members Area Login